All first-time drivers in Florida are required to take a 4-hour drug and alcohol course in order to get their First Time Driver Permit. The driving student will learn the effects that alcohol and drugs have on one’s driving abilities. We will also cover the legalities and safety issues concerning drug and alcohol abuse when it comes to getting behind the wheel.
The 4-Hour Florida First Time Driver course is required for all new drivers. This course is state approved by Department Highway Safety Motor Vehicles (DHSMV) in Tallahassee, Florida.
To obtain a learner’s license, customers must pass the Class E Knowledge Exam. The Class E Knowledge Exam consists of 50 multiple-choice questions about Florida traffic laws, safe driving practices and identifying traffic controls. To pass, a customer must answer 40 out of 50 questions correctly or score 80 percent.
Prepare for the Class E Knowledge Exam!
In person –The Class E Knowledge Exam can be taken at a service center.
Online/Classroom setting – Any applicant under the age of 18 can take the Class E Knowledge Exam online.
NOTE: A Parent Proctoring Form is required for online tests, and must be notarized or signed in the presence of a driver license examiner.
Upon passing the Class E Knowledge Exam through a registered third-party administrator, the exam information will automatically be submitted to the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV) and this information will also be available at all driver license offices.
To obtain a Class E driver license, customers must pass the Class E Driving Skills Test which consists of a series of maneuvers, listed below, used to determine an applicants ability to safely operate a motor vehicle. To qualify for a driver license, customers must hold their learner’s license for one year (12 months) from the issuance date or must be 18 years old.
In Office – The Class E Driving Skills Test can be taken at a service center.
Upon passing the Class E Driving Skills Test through a registered third-party administrator, the test information will automatically be submitted to the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV) and this information will also be available at all driver license offices.
The vehicle used for The Class E Driving Skills Test must have a valid registration, proof of insurance and pass a basic vehicle inspection (conducted by the driver license examiner to determine that it is safe for a driving exam). The Class E Driving Skills Test will not be given if the examiner finds:
No other passengers are permitted during the exam, unless a language interpreter is necessary.
You will perform the following maneuvers on the driving skills test:
The examiner/agent will explain any mistakes you may have made after the exam is completed. Customers who fail the Class E Driving Skills Test will be asked to study or practice before returning for a re-test.
Customers who have successfully passed the Class E Driving Skills Test may surrender their learner’s permit at their local service center to receive their Class E driver license.
For more information about licensing requirements for teens visit the Florida Highway Safety And Motor Vehicle's website.